Difference between revisions of "Exit (command)"

From VyOS Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Page creation)
 
(No difference)

Latest revision as of 03:04, 28 March 2017

The `exit` command exits the current configuration mode. If the current configuration level isn't the top-most, then the configuration level is put back to the top-most level. If the configuration level is at the top-most level, then it exits the configuration mode and returns to operational mode. The `exit` command cannot be used if uncommitted changes exists in the configuration file. To exit with uncommitted changes, you either need to use the `exit discard` command or you need to commit the changes before exiting. The `exit` command doesn't save the configuration, only the `save` command does. A warning will be given when exiting with unsaved changes. Using the `exit` command in operational mode will logout the session.

Syntax

Exiting from a configuration level:

[edit interfaces ethernet eth0]
vyos@vyos# exit
[edit]
vyos@vyos#

Exiting from configuration mode:

[edit]
vyos@vyos# exit
exit
vyos@vyos:~$

Exiting from operational mode:

vyos@vyos:~$ exit
logout

Error message when trying to exit with uncommitted changes:

vyos@vyos# exit
Cannot exit: configuration modified.
Use 'exit discard' to discard the changes and exit.
[edit]
vyos@vyos#

Warning message when exiting with unsaved changes:

[edit]
vyos@vyos# exit
Warning: configuration changes have not been saved.
exit
vyos@vyos:~$

Command tree